top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexandria

A LETTER TO MY YOUNGER SELF

Updated: Dec 28, 2022



Hey you! It's been a while and I wanted to talk to you. The journey you're on is remarkable and I just want to tell you I'm proud of you. I've never felt more content, more comfortable and more at peace with the person you are becoming. It's funny I didn't see you as I do today, how could I? but God and I have been on this long journey together and we've encountered many twists and turns so I guess it's safe to say it was inevitable.


I believe I have come to a good place, and I hope to keep going because I am enjoying the journey more than ever. So in the spirit of celebrating my 25, I made a list of things I would tell my younger self so that people reading who are younger than I am can learn some valuable life lessons while growing. Maybe you'll make my mistakes, even your own but they'll shape you and prepare you for the person you are supposed to be at age 25 and beyond.


Things I would tell my younger self


  • There is only one person who exists who will never disappoint you, God. Believe that with all your heart.


  • Stop expecting you in other people. You really think the world could manage another you?


  • Forgive, Forgive and Forgive. And don't forget to forgive yourself. Trust me holding on isn't worth it.


  • Don't be so serious all the time. Relax, laugh, enjoy life in the moment.


  • Learn when to say No, without an explanation.


  • That guy who broke your heart? The one you swore with every breath you will love forever and claim you'll never get over? You will. Pain doesn't last forever. Regardless, love love. Never allow one heartbreak to stop you from believing true love exists.


  • You are not flawed. Society's definition of flaw is flawed. Don't be conformed. Your mistakes and imperfections, they make you imperfectly perfect. You are beautiful just the way you are.


  • Be unapologetic about who you are. You don't need to be who "they" want you to be.


  • Read, educate yourself. There's always something to learn.


  • Be more health conscious and exercise. It will pay off when you get older. P.S. It's okay to eat the disgusting crap every now and then, call it cheat day.


  • Cherish the people who cherish you.


  • Much suffering comes from wanting your current situation to be different than it actually is and from wanting something temporary to be permanent, nothing really lasts forever. Learn to accept things as they actually are and not how you would want them to be. Friends, jobs and lovers will come and go and that’s okay. People change, grow and honestly not everyone is meant for every chapter of your story. Somethings are only meant to shape you for the path and not to stay in your path.


  • Stop trying to plan everything, go with the flow sometimes.


  • Be nice to people, you really don't know what they are battling.


  • You don't need a relationship to feel complete. Practice self-love.


  • Never place the key to your happiness in someone else's hand. This is not to say others won't make you happy. Happiness comes from within, and if you're not happy on your own, you won't truly be happy with someone else. Find your happy place within


  • Everything happens for a reason. Sometimes the reason isn't clear, but with time it gets there.


  • Pretending to be strong isn't a sign of strength and crying isn't a sign of weakness.


  • Never live life with regrets


  • Your purpose is wrapped up in the gifts God gave you that you're supposed to give back to the world. Impact, inspire, empower, motivate and encourage. Make a difference - Chadwick Boseman


Cheers to 25 and 25 more years to come 🥂




134 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page